Scilly Has A New MP

Derek Thomas

Derek Thomas

Scilly has a new Member of Parliament.

In the last result to be declared in this general election, Derek Thomas has taken the St Ives constituency for the Conservatives.

The 42-year-old was contesting the seat for a second time. And Mr Thomas has improved on his 2010 election performance.

He’s secured 18,491 votes this time round.

Five years ago, Mr Thomas came second in the poll with 17,900 votes compared to Liberal Democrat Andrew George’s 19,619 votes.

Mr George has been the islands’ member of parliament since 1997 when he took the seat from the Conservatives following the retirement of their MP David Harris.

And this result ends the Liberal Democrat’s foothold in Cornwall, traditionally one of their strongest regions.

The count at Pool’s Carn Brae Centre started at around 12.45pm and took place later than other counts because Scilly’s ballot boxes could not be transported from St Mary’s last night after the polls closed.

The votes were flown to Land’s End this morning on a Skybus flight.

Across the St Ives constituency, which includes the islands, Penzance and St Just, there was a 72% turnout.

In Scilly, 65.4% of the 1,717 islanders on the electoral roll voted.

Tresco had the highest turnout at 79%. Bryher had the lowest participation at 54%.


The full results were as follows:

Tim Andrewes – Green Party – 3,051

Graham Calderwood – UK Independence Party – 5,720

Andrew George – Liberal Democrats – 16,022

Cornelius Olivier – Labour Party – 4,510

Rob Simmons – Mebyon Kernow – 518

Derek Thomas – Conservative Party – 18,491