School Football Club Awards Take Place

football childrenParents, players and coaches filled the Scillonian Club on Wednesday evening for the Five Islands School Football Club awards night.

Committee Member Helen Glenn says it was lovely to see such a turnout for what’s become a tradition, celebrating the achievements of all the children and thanking the club coaches.

Gifts paid for by a collection from parents were given to coaches Ralph Handy, Dave Stone, Tim Stewart, Tristan Hick, Adam May, Jason Smith and Andy Hicks. Sarah Handy and Helen were given flowers.

Helen says she enjoys seeing the club go from strength to strength.

Awards given on the night included Year 1 and 2 Player of the Year going to Coen Hughes with Jake Finch getting the Most Improved award in that age group.

In years 3 and 4 Phin Austin-Pearce was Most Improved and Jevon Hughes gained Player of the Year.

Most Improved in year 5 and 6 was Zac Hick and Lewis Taylor was Player of the Year.

The secondary presentation awarded medals for all players. Trophies were awarded to Olly Glenn For Technical Ability, Sam James for Most Improved Player and Dylan Smith for the Goalkeeper Award.

Sam Stephan was awarded the Coaches’ Player of the Year trophy. Ethan Graham got an award for Technical Ability and Dan Evans gained the Long Service award.

He’s leaving the club for college.

The full list of awards was as follows:

Year 1 & 2

Golden Boot – Charlie Bird

Most Improved Player – Jake Finch

Coaches Player – Ryan Whittaker

Most Enthusiastic Player – Sol Hicks

Player of the Year – Coen Hughes


Year 3 & 4

Golden Boot – Owen Littlejohn

Most Improved Player – Phin Austin-Pearce

Coaches Player – Alex McMurray

Players Player – Remy Lewin

Player of the Year – Jevon Hughes


Year 5 & 6

Golden Boot – Jack Handy

Most Improved Player – Zac Hick

Coaches Player – Declan Shaw

Players Player – Tom James

Player of the Year – Lewis Taylor


The secondary presentation:

Olly Glenn – For Technical Ability

Sam James – Most Improved Player

Dylan Smith – Goalkeeper award

Sam Stephan – Coaches Player of the Year

Ethan Graham – For Technical Ability

Dan Evans (a committed member of the club for many years who is now moving on to college) – Long Service Award