Round The Island Race Takes Place With Lower Turnout

The numbers of participants in the Round the Island Race was less than half the usual level but the organiser says he’s pleased with the interest.

Sunday’s rescheduled race attracted fewer participants than the first attempt, two weeks ago. That event was called off because of strong winds.

This time it was slow until Tolls Island when the wind picked up.

Mark Underwood says 32 boats completed the circuit in good conditions.

Alan Davis won a trophy in the modern boat category in Paradox. David Mawer got the prize for second.

The trophy for the first multihull went to Astrophe skippered by Ian Sibley and second place went to Tanya Reynolds in Halcyon days.

The trophy for the first junior place went to Hannah Sibley in a wayfarer and Maddie Sibley followed in her laser 2000.

In the traditional boat section the winner of the trophy was Jerry Eapley with Peter Martin second in Shuna of Melfort and Roger Banfield winning the trophy for third in the Osprey.

The mermaid award for the first gig went to the Serica crew.

When the figures are adjusted to account for handicaps, overall first was Alan Davis in Paradox followed by David Mawer in Moondance and Jerry Eadley in Jasp.

Richard Smith of the sailing club says Mike and Lou Knapman are worthy of a special mention. They learnt to sail at the club earlier this year, and managed to come 5th place over all, missing out on 3rd in their class by just 2 seconds.


One Response to Round The Island Race Takes Place With Lower Turnout